Small Business Forum

Home

Old 03-24-2005, 01:36 PM

Default Matco,Mac Tools, Snap-On???

Does anyone have an opinion on any of these companies?
I'm researching these companies regarding starting a full time home based business selling tools out of truck for one of these companies.
Matco and Mac have no franchise fees or on going royalties, and Snap-On is 5k, with 50 bucks a month royalty. From what I have collected so far is Matco has the largest margins of the 3. Has exclusive territories and provides researched business leads, right down to where the business wants the truck parked.
After talking to the Matco rep, what's the catch? It can't possibly be as easy as they try to make it sound.
Old 03-24-2005, 04:02 PM

Jim, I am a franchise consultant and unfortunatly I do not represent the three companies you are looking into. What I can offer up in advice is to contact some existing reps that are doing...what you are looking to do? For example, if you were going to buy a McDonalds you would contact existing McDonalds franchisees to get a insiders point of view of owning the business. When doing this type of research ask the individual if they like what they are doing? Ask, if they had the chance to do it all over again would they? Ask, if they would recommend this type of work to a family member? Ask them how much money they are making? Ask them what their ROI is? Some people may not give you all this information, but you will be amazed with how much some people will reveal. It sounds like what you need is validation about this business opportunity.