Small Business Forum

Home

Go Back   Small Business Forum > SMALL BUSINESS ADVICE > 05 - Business Operations
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

05 - Business Operations Management, P&L Control & More

Old 11-29-2007, 03:17 PM

Default Purchasing a new vehicle...

Hi everybody,

As a small business owner, I am looking to purchase a new vehicle. I have several options :

A- Payment options:
1- Take a loan at the bank
2- pay upfront

B- Invoice option
1- Buy the car through the company (business check)
2- Buy the car personally and deduct the business expenses

I am lost in the middle of all these options. What would be your suggestion to make the best move?

Please let me know. Thanks in advance.
Wally
Old 11-29-2007, 03:33 PM

Payment - unless you've had a great year and are looking for a tax deduction take a long through the bank. This will cost you more but your cash flow will be steady and predictable.

Also, I'd buy the car through the company if there is any reason to justify it. Many small business owners can justify it - but others can not.

Huggytree for example started his own plumbing company - his truck has all his tools and stuff and he drives to people's houses (probably because taking the house to the plumber is waaaaaaaaaaaaaay inconvenient!).

I on the other hand do computer consulting for large companies. I can't justify it because I do not always travel to those companies - many times I am sitting in pajamas in the den at the computer.

Also - have you considered leasing? It might make more sense in this case depending on the mileage you put on.
Old 11-29-2007, 03:41 PM
Steve B

Just some food for thought, it almost always makes sense to buy a used vehicle - unless there are some features that you feel you must have and weren't available in previous models.