Small Business Forum

Home

Go Back   Small Business Forum > SMALL BUSINESS OPPORTUNITIES > 01 - Business Opportunities
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

01 - Business Opportunities Find the Perfect Business Opportunity -- Sponsored By: Opportunity World Magazine
Featured Opportunity:
GPS Heroes - Protecting What Matters Most
Featured Opportunity: Lifestyle Marketing Group - Make Money Online

Old 07-12-2008, 10:16 PM
jjci_startup

Default Starting A home based busines

Hello, I'm interested in starting a small home business. I am like to work on computers so I want to make a business out of that, what I mean is that I would like to start up a computer building and repair business. I'm new to this, i've never had my own business so I would apreciate alot of help and pointers. Do I need any certification to actually build or fix computers?
Old 07-12-2008, 10:38 PM
vangogh

You shouldn't need any certification, but if potential customers are likely to ask for one it makes sense to have one. Being able to fix the computers is more important, but the certificates can help convince people that they can trust you to do what you say you can. Not necessary, but possibly still something useful to get.

Are you thinking of having a store where people bring their computers to you or more where you go into their homes and offer support. I'm guessing the latter.

One thing you can and should do is let everyone you know that you're doing this as a business. Let your friends and family start to spread the word. Then you have to spread the word too. A website would likely be a good idea as would a listing in the phone book or even a small ad if it's within the budget.

Figure out what you're going to charge as early as you can. Don't undersell yourself. Look at what others in the area charge and then charge accordingly based on your skills and experience.