Home

Go Back   Small Business Forum > SMALL BUSINESS ADVICE > 01 - Sales & Marketing
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

01 - Sales & Marketing Sales Strategy & Marketing Tips
Host a Radio Show: wsRadio.com - The Worldwide Leader in Internet Talk
Social Media Help: Professional Podcasting for Your Business

Old 01-20-2008, 07:58 PM
Mgirl

Default Very Basic Graphic Design: Help!

Hi there,

I want to design some small tiles for an upcoming website, to be featured on the Homepage. They will be mainly text based, things like:
  • On Sale
  • We Recommend Windows Media Player

That sort of thing. Generic tiles that i can upload at appropriate times.

I am no expert in graphic design, so they will most likely be text based. Most important thing is that they convey information.

A couple of questions:
  1. I currently have Photoshop CS3 installed - can i create text-based files that i can upload onto the web, in this?
  2. Do i need to install Adobe Illustrator CS3?
  3. What is the best program (to your knowledge) for creating web-based graphics?
  4. Is there a free program that i can download to fulfil these requirements?
  5. Is there a particular format i need to save graphics files in for the web?
  6. Can i save it as a JPEG file? Is this okay for the web?

I am really a noobie at this and i would like to save some money, instead of going to a designer and paying $100.00 per hour.

Thanks in advance, i hope you can help me.
Old 01-20-2008, 08:40 PM

1. If you mean text in an image then yes
2. Nope, I think thats just for animations
5. Not really, I like using PNG files but they don't work well in IE6
6. yes that is fine
Old 01-20-2008, 08:56 PM
Mgirl

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViperChill
1. If you mean text in an image then yes
Hi ViperChill,

Thanks for your reply.

By "image", do you mean "photograph" or an imported image (picture) such as a logo?